Message from the Editors’ Desk

It is a pleasure to welcome you all to the 2012 International Conference on Communications, Devices, and Intelligent Systems (CODIS) at Kolkata, the cultural capital of India. We earnestly hope that attending CODIS 2012 will be a rewarding experience for you both in terms of academic pursuit and cultural extravaganza.

This year we have 336 valid submissions with authors from Australia, Bangladesh, China, Republic of Korea, South Africa, Thailand, Turkey, USA apart from India. The papers were carefully reviewed by renowned researchers from India and abroad. Based on the recommendations made by the reviewers, we were able to accept a total of 177 papers leading to a 52.7% acceptance rate. Out of 177 papers, we could accommodate 102 papers for Oral and 75 papers for Poster presentations. The technical program, spanning 2 days, consists of 18 oral and 4 poster sessions. Three parallel tracks, each with six sessions, have been organized for hosting 102 oral presentations. For 75 poster presentations, two parallel sessions are planned each day.

Apart from the contributed papers, the technical program incorporates 1 Plenary and 9 Invited talks in emerging research fields. The plenary talk on Hybrid spintronics and straintronics: An ultra low energy paradigm for digital computing will be delivered by Supriyo Bandyopadhyay from the Virginia Commonwealth University, USA. We have designated one invited talk as Jnan Saran Chatterjee Memorial Lecture in the name of the founder member of our department. This lecture on Cell Tower Radiation Hazards and Solutions will be delivered by Girish Kumar from IIT Bombay, India.

We are very happy that eminent researchers from India and abroad have given kind consent for delivering their lectures amidst a busy schedule. We sincerely acknowledge their cooperation. We are deeply grateful to all the reviewers whose endless efforts and invaluable expertise have enabled CODIS 2012 to attain this level. We take this opportunity to sincerely thank the session chairs, all authors and presenters for their contributions to CODIS 2012.

We very much look forward to meeting you in CODIS 2012.

Chayanika Bose
Technical Program Chair
Ananda S. Chowdhury
Publication Chair
P. Venkateswaran
Organizing Chair